K4 The National Review Treasury of Classic Bedtime Stories, Volume Two


K4 The National Review Treasury of Classic Bedtime Stories, Volume Two


The National Review Treasury of Classic Bedtime Stories, Volume Two (2006): 348 pages / hardcover / lavishly illustrated / 10 tales

Thornton Burgess thrilled two generations of children with his delightful nature tales, publishing over 150 books, most of them illustrated by the great Harrison Cady, featuring an array of woodland creatures — some saintly, some personable, others cranky and haughty, some even naughty, but all fun (and not a single one dull) — in simple, well-written tales that always entertained but that also had a moral and taught a lesson about human nature.

Commencing in 1913, over the course of several years Burgess published 20 books — the famous Bedtime Story Books series — that introduced his charming woodland characters to young readers. With an eye toward bringing wonderful stories to children in the earlier grades (who may find London, Twain, and others easier to handle in another year or two), we collected the first ten Bedtime books and faithfully reproduced them in 2003 in The National Review Treasury of Classic Bedtime Stories. We are now happy to announce the publication of “Volume Two,” which includes the remaining ten Bedtime tales.

You will love both of these books. And so (more so!) will those youngsters whom you give them to, whether for a birthday or Christmas gift (or as a reward for that very good report card!). Inside each of these large, handsome hardcovers’ pages — brightened by some 60 of Cady’s truly special drawings (reproduced just as they appeared in the original old books!) — are ten terrific “adventure” tales.

Our new edition features these wonderful Burgess tales:

    • The Adventures of Buster Bear

    • The Adventures of Old Mr. Toad

    • The Adventures of Prickly Porky

    • The Adventures of Old Man Coyote

    • The Adventures of Paddy the Beaver

    • The Adventures of Poor Mrs. Quack

    • The Adventures of Bobby Coon

    • The Adventures of Jimmy Skunk

    • The Adventures of Bob White

    • The Adventures of Ol’ Mistah Buzzard

If you are a parent or grandparent concerned about the quality of today’s children’s books, you will find National Review’s “Bedtime Classics” a reassuring safe haven. Graced by the Burgess’s very unique literary talents — his witty poems are as wonderful as his stories are captivating — both volumes of The National Review Treasury of Classic Bedtime Stories are refreshingly old-fashioned: the tales are clean, wholesome, fun, innocent, and instructive. These are the type of horizon-opening stories that one would look back upon, as an adult, with fond and cherished memories. This is doubtless one book that you will really want to share with a deserving child.

And for good reason. These are exactly the kind of little dramas you can read to your wee ones or your grandchildren at night as a prelude to sweet dreams. Each of the “adventure” stories unfold and progress over some 24 chapters (because they are designed to be real “bedtime” reading!). And new and developing readers (first and second graders) will take to the book on their own like, well ... like Chatterer takes to acorns!

Each book costs $29.95. Order both for only $49.90 – you save $10. Shipping (via US “Media Mail”) and handling are free. And if your final order is over $75, we will ship your books free via UPS Ground. If you’re sending the books as gifts, please look at the form below – we will gladly send them along to the lucky recipients, and we will include a gift announcement card (with your personal message, if you’d like that!). This is a complimentary service.